Brecon Town Council Members

Full Council

Comprises of 15 elected Town Councillors.

Councillors, do not receive any payment for their service to the town apart from traveling expenses when attending as a Councillor to represent the Council outside the town's boundaries. Council members are represented on outside bodies including School Governors, Theatr Brycheiniog, Brecon Volunteer Bureau, Police Community Consultative Groups, Brecon Beacons National Park, One Voice Wales to name but a few. An honorary bailiff also performs duties without payment.

The current Chairperson/Mayor for 2013/2014  is Councillor Matthew Dorrance  The Mayor takes elected office for one year.

The current Deputy Mayor for 2013/2014 is Councillor Neil Sandord.

Annually the Mayor holds an evening for one hundred people from Brecon voluntary organizations to recognise their commitment to the community.

The Council will also write letters of support or concern for various issues and make enquires of the Welsh Assembly regarding sand and gravel extraction and liaise with the Police, County Councillors, the Assembly Members and the Member of Parliament for e.g on issues such as the campaign for Gurkha soldiers to have the opportunity of British citizenship.

Please note that all times and dates of meetings are subject to alteration so please telephone to confirm the date.

Meets on the fourth Monday of each month excluding August and December.

Responsible for:

  • Taking all policy and strategic decisions affecting the community of Brecon
  • The overall financial management of the Council
  • Taking executive decisions regarding the main business of the Council
  • Ratifying the recommendations of the Council Committees where no specific delegation of powers has been agreed.
  • Receiving routine items of business

Mayor and Chairperson of the council 2013/2014– Councillor M Dorrance. The Mayor’s C.V. is available at the MAYOR link

St David’s Ward

St John’s Ward West

St John's Ward East

St Mary’s Ward

Cllr Mrs R Evans
Cllr A M C Weale
Cllr D W Meredith

Cllr R Lewis
Cllr M J Dorrance
Cllr Mrs E Pritchard
Cllr Mrs C Griffiths

Cllr A M Morgan
Cllr C T Walsh
Cllr N Sandford

Cllr P J Ashton
Cllr Mrs M Phillips
Cllr I Williams
Cllr K Wilbud
Cllr J Deveney


     Minutes of Council meetings are available to the public without charge at Brecon Library, Ship Street, Brecon.